January 2013 - December 2022 : Programme officer

World Organisation for Animal Health
OIE Sub-regional Representation for Eastern Africa
Nairobi, Kenya

Position : Programme Officer to the Sub-regional Representative of the OIE for Eastern Africa, covering the 13 Member Countries and Territories of the OIE in East Africa and the Horn of Africa : Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, South-Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda.

 

The OIE Sub-Regional Representation for Eastern Africa was established in 2009 and started operating in January 2010. The Representation is entrusted with the technical cooperation with two regional economic communities in the Region, i.e. the Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), with headquarters based in Djibouti City, Djibouti and the East African Community (EAC) with headquarters based in Arusha, Tanzania. In addition, the Representation, in close cooperation with the Regional Representation of the OIE for Africa, liaises with the various African Union instititions in the Region, i.e. the African Union Commission (AUC), the Interafrican Bureau for Animal Resources (AU-IBAR), the Pan-African Veterinary Vaccine Centre (AU-PANVAC) and the Pan African Tsetse and Trypanosomosis Eradication Campaign (AU-PATTEC). Normative activities of the OIE Sub-Regional Representation fall within the 6th Strategic Plan of the OIE and include (but are not limited to) :


  • Assist OIE Member Countries and Territories in the Region to comply with international standards in the field of animal health and animal welfare, including the WTO SPS Agreement.

  • Assist OIE Member Countries and Territories in the Region to improve governance and performance of veterinary services (evaluations, gap analyses, donor round tables) along the PVS pathway.

  • Provide technical support to OIE Member Countries and Territories in the Region, as well as the Secretariats of the Regional Economic Communities (EAC and IGAD) to reach agreement on the regional application of international standards in the field of animal health and animal welfare.

  • Offer policy advice in the field of animal health and animal welfare to OIE Member Countries and Territories in the Region, as well as the Secretariats of the Regional Economic Communities (EAC and IGAD) so as to strengthen veterinary services involvement in animal health, veterinary public health and animal welfare policy design and governance.

  • Develop and implement capacity-building programmes for national veterinary services of OIE Member Countries and Territories in the Region through support to OIE Permanent Delegates and National Focal Points.

    Provide OIE Member Countries and Territories in the Region, as well as the Secretariats of the Regional Economic Communities (EAC and IGAD) with policy advice, support and training in the specific areas of veterinary education, veterinary statutory bodies, aquatic biosecurity, animal welfare and reference laboratory services (through OIE reference laboratories)

  • Support the establishment of twinning agreements between laboratories, centres of excellence, veterinary educational establishments (VEE) and veterinary statutory bodies (VSB).

  • Support the recognition of new OIE Reference Centres (reference laboratories and collaborating centres) in the Region and encourage networking between scientists in the Region especially in the area of diseases of bees, aquatic diseases, veterinary laboratories, …)

  • Promote transparency on sanitary information through maintaining and updating formal and informal animal health information.

  • Provide governments, research institutions, universities and private users with fast, economical access to technical information and knowledge.

  • Support OIE Member Countries and Territories in the Region to develop their official disease status dossiers.

  • Promote collaboration in animal health activities through the FAO - OIE Regional Animal Health Centre for Eastern Africa

  • Support initiatives promoting the veterinary profession and animal health and welfare such as the World Veterinary Day and World Rabies Day

  • Disseminate technical information and raise awareness through extension messages

  • Support OIE Member Countries and Territories in the Region to improve collaborations between the public health and animal health sectors and other competent ministries on “One Health” issues to reduce risks at the animal-human-ecosystems interface.

  • Foster institutional relations and collaboration with the Government of Kenya (host), the African Union Commission (AUC), the Interafrican Bureau for Animal Resources of the African Union (AU-IBAR), the Pan-African Veterinary Vaccine Centre of the African Union (AU-PANVAC), the Pan African Tsetse and Trypanosomosis Eradication Campaign of the African Union (AU-PATTEC), the Secretariat of the East African Community (EAC), the Secretariat of the Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD), FAO, and other key stakeholders such as ILRI, ICIPE, GALVMed, etc...

  • Foster institutional relations and collaboration with the diplomatic community and the development partners including the European Union, USA, France, World Bank, etc...

  • Maintenance of the OIE Africa websiterr-africa.oie.int

Supporting agencies Donor agencies

World Animal Health Organisation (OIE)

Paris, France (2018 - 2022)

Agence Française de Développement (AFD)

Paris, France (2013 - 2017)

European Union funding

Strengthening Veterinary Governance in Africa (VETGOV)

Strengthening Veterinary Services in Developing Countries (SVSDC)

More information

World Organisation for Animal Health

The need to fight animal diseases at global level led to the creation of the Office International des Epizooties through the international Agreement signed on January 25th 1924. In May 2003 the Office became the World Organisation for Animal Health but kept its historical acronym OIE. The OIE is the intergovernmental organisation responsible for improving animal health worldwide. It is recognised as a reference organisation by the World Trade Organization (WTO) and in 2018 has a total of 182 Member Countries. The OIE maintains permanent relations with nearly 75 other international and regional organisations and has Regional and sub-regional Offices on every continent.

Coverage

Image Gallery : Kenya

Janvier 2013 - décembre 2022 : Chargé de programme

Organisation Mondiale de la Santé Animale
Représentation Sous-régionale OIE pour l'Afrique orientale
Nairobi, Kenya

Fonction : Chargé de mission auprès de la Représentation Sous-régionale de l'OIE pour l'Afrique orientale, chargé des 13 Pays et Territoires Membres de l'OIE en Afrique de l'Est et la Corne de l'Afrique : Burundi, Comores, Djibouti, Erythrée, Ethiopie, Kenya, Ouganda, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalie, Soudan, Sud-Soudan et Tanzanie.

 

La Représentation Sous-régionale de l'OIE pour l'Afrique de l'Est a été mise en place en 2009 et a commencé à fonctionner en janvier 2010. La Représentation est chargée de la coopération technique avec deux Communautés Economiques Régionales : l'Autorité Inter-Gouvernementale pour le Développement (IGAD) avec siège à Djibouti-Ville, Djibouti et la Communauté de l'Afrique de l'Est (EAC) avec siège à Arusha, en Tanzanie. Par ailleurs, la Représentation, en étroite collaboration avec la Représentation Régionale de l'OIE pour l'Afrique, s'occupe de la liaison avec les institutions de l'Union Africaine dans la Région, c-à-d. la Commission de l'Union Africaine, le Bureau Inter-african des Ressources Animales (UA-BIRA), le Centre Pan-africain des Vaccins Vétérinaires (UA-PANVAC) et la Campagne Pan-africaine d'Eradication de la Trypanosomose et de la mouche Tsetse (UA-PATTEC). Les activités normatives de la Représentation Sous-régionale correspondent à celles du 6ème Plan Stratégique de l'OIE et incluent (mais pas exclusivement) :


  • Aider les pays et territoires membres de l'OIE dans la région à se conformer aux normes internationales dans le domaine de la santé animale et du bien-être animal, y compris en ce qui concerne l'accord SPS de l'OMC.

  • Aider les pays et territoires membres de l'OIE dans la région à améliorer la gouvernance et la performance de leurs services vétérinaires (évaluations, analyses des écarts, tables rondes de bailleurs) le long du processus PVS.

  • Fournir un appui technicue aux pays et territoires membres de l'OIE dans la région, ainsi que les Secrétariats des Communautés Economique Régionales (EAC et IGAD) à atteindre des accords sur l'application régionale des normes internationales dans le domaine de la santé animale et du bien-être animal.

  • Offrir aux pays et territoires membres de l'OIE dans la région, ainsi qu’au Secrétariats des Communautés Economique Régionales (EAC et IGAD), des conseils d’orientations politiques dans le domaine de la santé animale et du bien-être animal afin de renforcer l'engagement des services vétérinaires dans le développement et la gouvernance de politiques de santé animale, de santé publique vétérinaire et de bien-être animal.

  • Développer et exécuter des programmes de renforcement des capacités des services vétérinaires nationaux des pays et territoires membres de l'OIE dans la région visant les Délégués permanents auprès de l'OIE et les points focaux nationaux.

  • Fournir aux pays et territoires membres de l'OIE dans la région, ainsi qu’au Secrétariats des Communautés Economique Régionales (EAC et IGAD), des conseils d’orientations politiques et des formations dans les secteurs spécifiques de l’enseignement vétérinaire, les organismes statutaires vétérinaires, la biosécurité aquatique, le bien-être des animaux et les services de laboratoire de référence (par les laboratoires de référence de l'OIE).

  • Soutenir l'établissement d’accords de jumelage entre laboratoires, centres d'excellence, établissements d'enseignement vétérinaires (EEV) et organismes statutaires vétérinaires (OSV).

  • Soutenir la reconnaissance de nouveaux centres de référence de l'OIE (des laboratoires de référence et des centres collaborateurs) dans la région et encourager la mise en réseau de scientifiques dans la région, en particulier dans des domaines tels que les maladies des abeilles, les maladies aquatiques et les laboratoires vétérinaires,…).

  • Promouvoir la transparence de la situation des maladies animales en maintenant et en mettantà jour l'information zoo-sanitaire formelle et informelle.

  • Fournir aux gouvernements, institutions de recherche, universités et utilisateurs privés l'accès rapide et abordable à l'information et le savoir technique.

  • Soutenir les pays et territoires membres de l'OIE dans la région dans leurs démarches pour développer leurs dossiers officiels de statuts indemnes de maladies.

  • Promouvoir la coopération dans les domaines de la santé animale à travers le Centre régional de santé animale FAO - OIE pour l'Afrique orientale.

  • Appuyer des initiatives qui touchent à la profession vétérinaire et à la santé et le bien-être animal telles que la journée mondiale vétérinaire et la journée mondiale contre la rage.

  • Disséminer l'information technique et promouvoir une prise de conscience par des messages de vulgarisation.

  • Aider les pays et territoires membres de l'OIE dans la région à améliorer la collaboration entre les secteurs de la santé publique et la santé animale , ainsi qu'autres ministères compétents,sur des sujets "d'une seule santé" afin de réduire les risques à l'interface animal - homme - écosystème.

  • Stimuler les relations et la collaboration institutionnelles avec le Gouvernement du Kenya (pays hôte), la Commission de l'Union Africaine, le Bureau Inter-african des Ressources Animales (BIRA) de l'Union Africaine, le Centre Pan-africain des Vaccins Vétérinaires (PANVAC) de l'Union Africaine, la Campagne Pan-africaine d'Eradication de la Trypanosomose et de la mouche Tsetse (PATTEC) de l'Union Africaine, le Secrétariat de la Communauté de l'Afrique Orientale (East-African Community, EAC), le Secrétariat de l'Autorité Inter-Gouvernementale pour le Développement (Inter-Governmental Authority on Development, IGAD), la FAO, et d'autres partenaires clefs comme ILRI, ICIPE, GALVMed, etc...

  • Stimuler les relations et la collaboration institutionnelles avec la communauté diplomatique et les partenaires au développement, y compris la Commission européenne, les Etats-Unis, la France, la Banque Mondiale, la Banque Africaine de Développement, etc...

  • Entretien du site internet OIE Afrique rr-africa.oie.int

Agences techniques Bailleurs de fonds impliqués

Organisation Mondiale de la Santé Animale (OIE)

Paris, France (2018 - 2022)

Agence Française de Développement (AFD)

Paris, France (2013 - 2017)

Financements Union Européenne

Projet Renforcement de la Gouvernance Vétérinaire en Afrique (VETGOV)

Renforcement des Services Vétérinaires dans les Pays en voie de Développement (SVSDC)

En savoir plus

Organisation mondiale de la santé animale (OIE)

La nécessité de combattre les maladies animales au niveau mondial a conduit à la création de l'Office international des épizooties grâce à l'Accord international signé le 25 janvier 1924. En mai 2003, l'Office est devenu l'Organisation Mondiale de la Santé Animale mais a gardé son acronyme historique OIE.

L'OIE est l'organisation intergouvernementale chargée d'améliorer la santé animale dans le monde.

Les normes établies par l'Organisation sont reconnues comme références mondiales par l'Organisation Mondiale du Commerce (OMC). En 2018, l'OIE compte 182 Pays membres, entretient des contacts permanents avec près de 75 autres organisations internationales et régionales et dispose de Représentations Régionales et sous-régionales sur tous les continents.

Couverture

Galerie d'images : Kenya